U.S. EPA Contaminated Site Cleanup Information (CLU-IN)


U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
U.S. EPA Technology Innovation and Field Services Division

For more information on Optimization, please contact:

Kirby Biggs
Technology Integration and Information Branch

PH: (703) 823-3081 | Email: biggs.kirby@epa.gov



Optimization Technical Experts

The EPA typically performs optimization reviews using a small team of individuals with expertise in complimentary fields, including environmental, chemical and process engineering, hydrogeology and other remediation disciplines. In addition, the team may solicit advice from other experts, including, but not limited to, chemists, geochemists, geologists, hydrologists, biologists, toxicologists, risk assessors, cost estimators and regulatory experts. Teams may consist of EPA staff, private contractors and staff from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. In all cases, the individuals on the review team are independent of the site. A conflict of interest (COI) screen must be passed to deploy contractor staff to an optimization support site.

EPA Headquarter Optimization Leads

Following are EPA Headquarter Optimization Leads who can be contacted directly in regard to questions and additional information on optimization reviews.

Kirby Biggs

biggs.kirby@epa.gov

Carlos Pachon

pachon.carlos@epa.gov

Matt Jefferson

jefferson.matthew@epa.gov

Ed Gilbert

gilbert.edward@epa.gov

Amanda VanEpps

vanepps.amanda@epa.gov

Shahid Mahmud
(Mining Sites)

mahmud.shahid@epa.gov

Tom Kady

kady.thomas@epa.gov

Gary Newhart

newhart.gary@epa.gov



EPA Regional Optimization Liaisons

The EPA has Optimization Liaisons and Superfund Technical Liaisons (STL) within each of the EPA Regions who assist with optimization evaluation efforts by: 

  • Serving as advocates for optimization in their respective regions.
  • Working with Regional staff and managers to identify candidate sites for optimization and in prioritizing sites, if necessary.
  • Participating in site-specific optimization reviews, as appropriate.
  • Assisting Regional Project Managers (RPM) during implementation of optimization recommendations, as appropriate.
  • Participating in annual tracking/reporting of recommendations implementation.
  • Conducting a check-in at each site within their respective Regions to help keep implementation efforts on track.

The following EPA Regional Optimization Liaisons and STLs may be contacted directly regarding optimization review questions and support:

Region 1

Derrick Golden

golden.derrick@epa.gov

Region 1

Kimberly White

white.kimberly@epa.gov 

Region 2

Diana Cutt (STL)

cutt.diana@epa.gov

Region 2

Jeff Josephson

josephson.jeff@epa.gov

Region 3

Kathy Davies

davies.kathy@epa.gov

Region 4

Rusty Kestle

kestle.rusty@epa.gov

Region 5

Vacant

 

Region 6

Vincent Malott

malott.vincent@epa.gov

Region 7

Sandeep Mehta

mehta.sandeep@epa.gov

Region 7

Rob Weber (STL)

weber.robert@epa.gov

Region 8

Victor Ketellapper

ketellapper.victor@epa.gov

Region 9

Andria Benner

benner.andria@epa.gov

Region 10

Kira Lynch (STL)

lynch.kira@epa.gov


Top of Page